Hello, Alaska Insurance.

x Provider #1040

View Available Courses Here

Continuing Education Requirements

This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state insurance department. See contact information below.

Hours Required

24 credit hours of continuing education must be completed by Producers and Adjusters, biennially, of which 3 credits must be in Ethics.

Compliance Date

Agents whose year of birth is an odd-numbered year will renew biennially on their birth date in odd-numbered years and agents whose year of birth is an even-numbered year will renew biennially on their birth date in even-numbered years.

Approved Course Delivery Methods

• Independent self-study online or written courses
• Classroom
• Interactive Online

Exam Requirements
Exams are open-book and a passing grade of 70% is required on final exams.

Course Subject Requirements

Ethics - Three (3) credits must be in Ethics.

No more than eight (8) credits may be in the subject area of management, marketing, sales, and training.

 Long Term Care Insurance - Effective July 1, 2011 any producer licensed for health authority may not continue to sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance after July 1, 2012 unless the producer has completed at least eight credit hours.  Training Taken by the producer to comply with another state's requirements would satisfy requirement as long as the one- time training course meets the requirement in Alaska Statute 21.53.066(d).   Ongoing training  must be completed every 24 months of a course at least 4 credit hours.


Annuity Product Training - Producers licensed for life authority  who solicit or sell an annuity product must complete the one-time 4 hour general annuity training requirement. A producer meets Alaska's general annuity training requirements under 3 AAC 26.778(b) if the producer has satisfied substantially similar training requirements of another state.

    Carryover Credits

    A maximum of 8 credit hours may be carried over to the next reporting period.

    Ethics will be carried over as general credits.

    Credits earned as management, marketing, sales and training credits will not carry over.

    Course Repetition

    Credit will not be given for courses that are repeated in the same renewal period.


    • Any person licensed less than two years at the time of the first license renewal.
    • Individuals who have been licensed since January 1980.
    • Any nonresident who submits evidence satisfactory to the director that the licensee has satisfied the CE requirement in their resident state and that state has a reciprocal agreement with Alaska.

    Credit Reporting

    CE providers have 10 days to report a course completion to the Division.

    A licensee may file their certificate of completion with a $50 rush processing fee and request the division manually update the licensees transcript.

    Contact Information:

    If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:

    Alaska Insurance Department
    State Office Building, 9th Floor
    333 Willoughby Avenue
    Juneau, AK 99801
    (907) 465-2545

    Contact Cape:

    Cape School, Inc.
    P.O. Box 169
    Buckingham, VA 23921

    Phone: 800-320-4955
    Fax: 888-303-1828
    Or email us at the left

    View Available Courses Here


    Webinar CE

    No Exam
    • Weekday, Weekend, and Evening Webinars Available
    • Live Classes on your Computer
    Convenient, Easy, and Affordable

    View Classes


    Teleconference CE

    No Test!  Credits are Based on Attendance
    • Localized Phone Numbers to Select from
    • You may Participate or you may just Listen
    • Participate from Anywhere you have Access to a Phone

    View Classes


    Self-Study CE

    • Online, Video and Textbook Courses
    • Take Courses on your Schedule
    • Variety of Topics

    View Courses


    • Live, online, & paper courses
    • Friendly customer service
    • Next business day reporting

    • Former students receive 10% off
       *Discounts cannot be combined
    • 24 Self-Study credits for only $45

    Why Choose Cape?

    • Friendly, knowledgeable customer service representatives to assist your every need
    • No hidden charges
    • Multi-State approvals on many courses
    • Credits reported next business day in most states (where applicable)
    • Former student discounts
    • More choices: classroom, written and online self-study
    • Print your own certificate of course completion (when allowed by your state agency)
    • Unlimited number of exam retakes (when allowed by state agencies)
    • Same day shipping on orders received before 2pm Eastern Time (Mon-Fri)

    Have Questions? Call us at # 800-729-7363 or reach us by email at info@capeschool.com.