Hello, Oklahoma Insurance.

x Provider #0061

View Available Courses Here

Continuing Education Requirements

This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state insurance department. See contact information below.

Hours Required

• Resident Producers (Excluding Title Producers): 24 credit hours biennially, which includes 19 hours producer general credits, 3 hours ethics and 2 hours of legislative updates. A licensee holding a property line of authority is required to complete a 1 hour earthquake course which will be counted as part of the 19 hour general requirement.
• Title Agents/Producers : 16 credit hours biennially, which includes 12 hours producer general credits, 2 hours of ethics and 2 hours of legislative updates.
• Resident Adjusters: 24 credit hours biennially, which includes 19 hours of adjuster general credits, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of legislative updates.  A licensee holding a property line of authority is required to complete a 1 hour earthquake course which will be counted as part of the 19 hour general requirement.
• Customer Service Reps: 13 credit hours biennially, which includes 8 hours producer general credits, 3 hours of ethics and 2 hours of legislative updates.

 

Compliance Date

Last day of the license issuance month, biennially.

Oklahoma renewal guidelines state that the agent's CE transcript must show CE Compliant, at least 3 business days before the licensee will be allowed to process their renewal application online.  They suggest the best practice is for CE to be completed at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date to allow ample time for credits to be reported and allow for the licensee to process their renewal prior to expiration.

Approved Course Delivery Methods

• Written and Online self-study courses (passing grade of 70% required on final exam)
• Interactive Online
• Classroom
• Seminar

Exam Requirements

The OK Insurance Department does not require a proctor to be present during the final exam for correspondence and online self-study courses. The exam is a closed book exam.

Course Subject Requirements

• Resident Producers and Title Producers credits other than Ethics or Legislative Updates are Producer General Credits and do not need to be license specific.

  • Resident Adjuster credits other than Ethics or Legislative Updates are required to be Adjuster General Credit.
  • A Non-Resident Producers basic CE is considered to be reciprocal with the producer's resident state. The producer must maintain an active license in their resident state to be eligible for a non-resident license in Oklahoma.
  • Non-Resident Adjusters are required to complete CE in at least (1) state where they have an active adjuster license.  CE Requirements should be completed in their resident state as long as that state requires CE.  Otherwise, the adjuster may designate a non-resident state where they hold an active license and meet that state's CE requirement.  If Oklahoma is their designated home state, then the adjuster is required to complete 24 hours of continuing education. The 24 hours should consist of 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of legislative update and 19 hours of Adjuster General credits.

 

• Licensees must complete 3 hours in ethics. (Except for Title Agents who only need 2 hours of ethics).
• Licensees must complete 2 hours in legislative updates.
• Producers who sell, solicit or negotiate Long Term Care insurance must complete a one-time 8-hour training course. In addition to the one-time training course, producers who sell LTC insurance must complete no less than 4 hours of ongoing LTC training every 24 months. These credits count towards 19 hours of producer general credit.
• Producers that sell, solicit, or negotiate Annuity products are required to take a one-time 4 hour course on Annuity products. These credits count towards 19 hours of producer general credit.

NOTE: As of September 15, 2019, the 1 hour continuing education flood requirement will no longer be effective. License renewals processed prior to September 15, 2019 will continue to be required to complete the 1 hour requirement on flood coverage. License renewals processed after September 15, 2019 will not be required to obtain continuing education on flood coverage. 

Carryover Credits

Six credit hours in excess of the minimum 24 month period requirement shall carry forward to the next 24 month period.  Excess hours may be applied to bring a lapsed license into compliance. Carryover CE hours will be considered as general hours.

Course Repetition

Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a 24 month period.  A licensee can review their CE transcript online to ensure that a course is not repeated.

Exemptions

• Limited insurance representatives
• Non-Resident Producer who resides and is licensed in a state or district having CE Requirements and the producer meets all the requirements of that state or district to practice therein.  The Non-Resident producer shall be responsible for completing any reporting requirements necessary to verify the completion.
• Non-resident producer of a state that does not require continuing education hours may fulfill the requirements of any other state's continuing education requirements and shall be deemed to have complied with this rule upon proof of completion said hours.

Credit Reporting

Cape will report credits to the Sircon within 10 days of course completion. A course completion certificate is provided for the agent's records.

Contact Information:

If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:

Oklahoma Insurance Department
Licensing Division
P.O. Box 53408
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3408
(405) 522-4626
http://www.oid.state.ok.us/

Contact Cape:

Cape School, Inc.
P.O. Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921

Phone: 888-223-5946
Fax: 888-303-1828
Or email us below

 

View Available Courses Here

Webinar

Webinar CE

No Exam
• Weekday, Weekend, and Evening Webinars Available
• Live Classes on your Computer
Convenient, Easy, and Affordable

View Classes

Teleconference

Teleconference CE

No Test!  Credits are Based on Attendance
• Localized Phone Numbers to Select from
• You may Participate or you may just Listen
• Participate from Anywhere you have Access to a Phone
*Adjuster credits cannot be satisfied with Teleconference

View Classes

Self-Study

Self-Study CE

• Online and Textbook Courses
• Take Courses on your Schedule
• Variety of Topics

View Courses

Features.

• Live, online, & paper courses
• Friendly customer service
• Next business day reporting

• Former students receive 10% off
   *Discounts cannot be combined
• 24 Self-Study credits for only $39

Why Choose Cape?

• Friendly, knowledgeable customer service representatives to assist your every need
• No hidden charges
• Multi-State approvals on many courses
• Credits reported next business day in most states (where applicable)
• Former student discounts
• More choices: classroom, written and online self-study
• Print your own certificate of course completion (when allowed by your state agency)
• Unlimited number of exam retakes (when allowed by state agencies)
• Same day shipping on orders received before 2pm Eastern Time (Mon-Fri)
• 100% satisfaction guaranteed

Have Questions? Call us at # 800-729-7363 or reach us by email at info@capeschool.com.