Hello, Maryland Insurance.

x Provider #207909

View Available Courses Here

As of January 1, 2020, Maryland producers are required to complete their continuing education 15 days prior to their license expiration date. Public Insurance Adjusters licensed in Maryland must now complete their required continuing education 30 days prior to the expiration of their license.

Reminder for Title Insurance Pre-Licensing 

When applying for your license after completing your coursework, please remember the following:
1. Paper application submission is required to be mailed for all initial Title applications
2. All supplemental forms and fees must be received before an application is reviewed. 
3. The application fee must be paid by check or money order.


Continuing Education Requirements

This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact your state insurance department. See contact information below.

The Maryland Insurance Administration is in the process of migrating our data and producer licensing services into a new system. The selected system is the NAIC's State Based Systems which provides a comprehensive, Web-based application for use by state regulators in support of all insurance regulatory functions. As a result and in preparation for this transition our on-line services have been shut down.

Individual producers may visit the National Insurance Producer Registry (www.nipr.com) to apply for new licenses, renew existing licenses, and update mailing and business addresses (please see the links below). The National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) supports the work of states and the NAIC by offering a "one stop shopping" facility for all electronic producer licensing transactions. If you do not wish to, or are unable to process your transaction on-line you may submit a Uniform Initial or Renewal Application with your fee.

The applications may be downloaded below. Please contact our customer service unit at 1-888-204-6198 if you have any questions.

http://www.mdinsurance.state.md.us/sa/documents/WebFormsPL/UniformIndividualRenewal102009.pdf

Hours Required

Effective October 1, 2009 all resident licensees holding a major line of authority, with the exception of Title, will be required to complete 24 hours of Continuing Education before their license can be renewed. Title producers will still have a 16 hours requirement. If prior to October 1, 2008 a resident licensee has been consecutively licensed for 25 or more years their continuing education requirement is 8 hours. Of the required hours of Continuing Education for all resident producers per renewal period, at least 3 hours shall relate directly to ethics. (Do not take more than 3 ethics credits)

Effective October 1, 2013 an insurance producer may obtain all or part of the credit hours of continuing education required for renewal of a license from correspondence or online courses approved by the Commissioner.

Effective October 1, 2017 - Section 10-116 of the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland requires all resident individual property and casualty producers who write bail bonds to complete continuing education (CE). By regulation, each property and casualty producer who sells, solicits, or negotiates bail bonds will be required to complete four (4) hours of continuing education that directly relates to bail bonds. The four hours bail bond CE is part of the required 24 hours of CE. 

Compliance Date

One day prior to the renewal date, which is the license issuance date, biennially.

Approved Course Delivery Methods

• Independent self-study online or written courses (passing grade of 70% required on final exam)
• Classroom
• Interactive Online
• Seminar

Exam Requirements

Self-study exams do not have a monitor requirement

Course Subject Requirements

• Courses must be approved for the lines of insurance for which the license is held.
• 3 Credits must be Ethics approved. (Do not take more than 3 Ethics credits)
• LH/PC combined licensees must complete 6 hours in each LH and PC.
• Individuals wishing to sell LTC must complete 2 hours of LTC education prior to selling and then biennially thereafter.
• MD LTC COMAR Requirement:
Maryland has adopted a Regulation on Producer Training Requirements for Long
Term Care insurance under COMAR 31.14.01.34. As of September 10, 2007, a
producer who sells, solicits, or negotiates long term care insurance must complete a
one-time TRAINING PROGRAM REQUIREMENT which consists of a minimum
of 8 hours of long term care education followed by an ongoing training requirement
of at least 4 hours to be completed every 24 months. This training requirement
must be completed by September 10, 2008.
• MD Flood Requirement:
Flood Insurance ONLY: All Producers who sell Flood Insurance ONLY must complete 2 CE credits in approved flood courses before selling Flood Insurance and 2 hours must be completed each renewal period thereafter.
Homeowners Insurance ONLY: All Producers who sell Homeowners Insurance ONLY must complete 2 CE credits in approved flood courses before selling Flood Insurance. This is a one time training requirement.
Homeowners and Flood Insurance: All Producers who sell both Flood Insurance and Homeowners Insurance must complete 2 CE credits in approved  flood courses before selling Flood Insurance and 2 hours must be completed each renewal period thereafter. The completion of 2 CE credits in approved flood courses will satisfy the one time Homeowners Insurance flood requirement.
Bail Bonds: All producers who sell Bail Bonds must complete 4 CE credits in approved Bail Bonds credits. 
Annuity Requirement: Producers must complete 4 hours in Annuity Training effective November 1, 2011.
Title Insurance: A producer who is licensed for Title must complete 16 credits hours of continuing education: 13 hours in Title and 3 hours in Ethics. (Property/Casualty credits DO NOT count for Title credits). 
Non-Resident Title agents will be required to complete 16 credit hours of continuing education: 13 hours in Title and 3 hours in Ethics, if their resident state is NOT reciprocal with Maryland. The Maryland Insurance Administration has identified the following states that are NOT reciprocal with Maryland for Title Insurance Licensing: 

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Idaho
Iowa
Kentucky
Massachusetts
Nevada
New Mexico
Oregon
Pennsylvania
South Dakota
Texas
Utah
Washington
California is reciprocal for title marketing representative- title insurance sale only
New York is reciprocal for title insurance agent, not sub licensee

Carryover Credits

Excess hours may not be carried over.

Course Repetition

Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a 2-year period. If the course is taken in two consecutive reporting periods, there must be 6 months between completion dates.

Exemptions

• Individuals licensed less than 1 year at the time of the compliance date.
• Individuals who hold a credit life, credit health, or travel license.
• Producers born prior 04/30/1943

Credit Reporting

CAPE will report online credits to Sircon within 1 business day of course completion. A course completion certificate is provided for the agent’s record.

Annuity Training Requirement

An insurance producer who holds a life insurance license on the effective
date of COMAR 31.09.12, which is November 1, 2011, who desires to sell
annuity products shall complete a one-time, four-credit training course
provided by a Maryland-approved continuing education provider within
six months after the effective date of November 1, 2011.

Individuals who obtain a life insurance license after the effective date of
November 1, 2011 may not engage in the sale of annuities until the
annuity training course has been completed.

LTC COMAR Training Requirement

Maryland has adopted a Regulation on Producer Training Requirements for Long Term Care insurance under COMAR 31.14.01.34. As of September 10, 2007, a producer who sells, solicits, or negotiates long term care insurance must complete a one-time TRAINING PROGRAM REQUIREMENT which consists of a minimum of 8 hours of long term care education followed by an ongoing training requirement of at least 4 hours to be completed every 24 months. This training requirement must be completed by September 10, 2008. A producer who was not selling, soliciting, or negotiating long term care insurance prior to September 10, 2007 must complete the one-time training program of at least 8 hours, BEFORE selling, soliciting or negotiating any long term care insurance. The ongoing training requirement of at least 4 hours to be completed every 24 months applies to the person who continues to sell, solicit or negotiate long term care insurance. This TRAINING PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS apply to both resident and non resident producers who sell, solicit or negotiate long term care insurance in Maryland. Satisfaction of a long term care TRAINING PROGRAM in any state shall be deemed to satisfy the training program requirements in Maryland. The producer may apply the number of course credits of any Maryland approved continuing education Long Term Care courses to their overall continuing education requirements. In other words, if a long term care training program has been approved for 8 hours of continuing education, then the producer may apply the 8 hours to the overall continuing education requirement of 16 credit hours.

Contact Information:

If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:

Prometric: 1-800-482-2366 or www.prometric.com

MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION
ATTN: PRODUCER LICENSING UNIT
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
MIA Main (800) 492-6116
Producer Licensing Customer Service (888)204-6198
Producer Licensing Fax (410) 468-2399

Contact Cape:

CAPE Education, Inc.
P.O. Box 377
Newtown Square, PA 19073

Phone: 888-227-3331
Fax: 888-305-9471
Or email us below

View Available Courses Here

Classroom

Classroom

• Knowledgeable Instructors
No Final Exam
Variety of Topics
Online Registrations save 15%

View Classes

Webinar

Webinar 

No Exam
• Evening classes now available! (6-9:45 pm ET)
• Live Classes on your Computer
Convenient, Easy, and Affordable

View Classes

Teleconference

Teleconference

No Test!  Credits are Based on Attendance
• Localized Phone Numbers to Select from
• You may Participate or you may just Listen
• Participate from Anywhere you have Access to a Phone

View Classes

Self-Study

Self-Study

• Take Courses on your Schedule
• Variety of Topics
• Convenient, Easy and Affordable


View Courses

Get a License.

Why Choose Cape?

• Friendly, knowledgeable customer service representatives to assist your every need
• No hidden charges
• Multi-State approvals on many courses
• Credits reported next business day in most states (where applicable)
• Former student discounts
• More choices: classroom, written and online self-study
• Print your own certificate of course completion (when allowed by your state agency)
• Unlimited number of exam retakes (when allowed by state agencies)
• Same day shipping on orders received before 2pm Eastern Time (Mon-Fri)
• 100% satisfaction guaranteed

Have Questions? Call us at # 888-227-3331 or reach us by email at info_pa@capeschool.com.