Hello, Virginia Insurance.
This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by insurance agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more in-depth information regarding VIrginia Insurance Continuing Education, please Click here to visit the Pearson VUE Virginia Insurance CE website.
Resident and non-resident agents or consultants who hold one or more of the following lines or qualifications must meet the Virginia CE requirements: - Life & Annuities, Health, Life & Health Consultant, Property & Casualty, Property & Casualty Consultant, Personal Lines, Title, Public Adjusters.
*Special Notice Regarding Annuity Suitability - Effective April 1, 2017*
The Virginia Bureau of Insurance requires that all agents who engage in the sale of annuity products in Virginia complete a one-time, 4-credit training course. Agents who hold a life insurance line of authority and desire to sell annuities are required to complete this course by January 1, 2018, while agents who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after January 1, 2018, are required to complete this course prior to engaging in the sale of annuities.
The Bureau of Insurance has determined that resident agents may meet this training requirement by completing an approved training course - one that has either been approved in Virginia or in another state since that state's adoption of the 2010 or 2015 NAIC Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model Regulation - prior to the relevant deadline.
IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR THE VIRGINIA CONTINUING EDUCATION 2017-2018 RENEWAL PERIOD
Virginia residents should complete approved CE courses and pay the $20 continuance fee for the 2017-2018 biennium by November 30, 2018.
• This fee must be paid each biennium so that the required CE credits can be applied for compliance.
• In May/June 2018, noncompliant agents will be sent a status report confirming all CE requirements have not been met. A second status report will be sent in early October 2018.
Prior to December 1, 2018, the "Bureau" will send noncompliant agents a written notice of impending termination.
• Agents will have a 31-day period (beginning December 1, 2018) as a final opportunity to correct any CE deficiencies and/or pay the $20 nonrefundable continuance fee.
• Nonresident agents/consultants must pay the $20 continuance fee by December 31, 2018.
• The fee may be paid at any time during the biennium, provided that the nonresident agents/consultants are in good standing in their home state.
• Upon payment, nonresident agents/consultants will be placed in compliance in Virginia for the 2017-2018 biennium.
• To pay the $20 continuance fee or to obtain the 2017-2018 CE Compliance Schedules, Visit Sircon's website here
• 16 hours biennially, for a single line license, specific to the license type (including 3 hours of ethics).
• 24 hours biennially, for more than one license line. At least eight credits must be specific to each license type (including 3 hours of ethics).
-Public Adjusters - 24 hours of approved CE Courses, including 3 hours of ethics (Please note that : ILR will not fall under the Ethics Category for Public Adjusters, the course must be "Ethics") and the remaining 21 hours in any combination of the following courses (Please note that : OGI does not fall under the additional 21 hours as being acceptable for Public Adjuster credits):
- Property and Casualty Courses
- Mitigation Courses
- Flood Courses
- Public Adjuster Courses
12/31 of even numbered years
Approved Course Delivery Methods
• Independent self-study online or written courses (passing grade of 70% required on final exam)
• Interactive Online
• Seminar (only 75% of the requirement may be earned from company and/or agency sponsored courses)
Effective June 7, 2016 - Virginia Insurance CE final exams administered online no longer require a proctor/monitor.
Self-study examinations which are not administered online must be proctored in a manner approved by Pearson VUE. The proctoring process must ensure the examination will be completed by the student, on a closed-book basis, without assistance. The proctor must be over the age of 18 years and unrelated to the student. The following may proctor the examination:
• Librarian at a public library
• Corporate Training Department
• Human Resources or Education Department Personnel
• Local Course Sponsor (list can be found at )
• Office Manager
• Member in a CPCU Society Chapter
• A person in a supervisory position to the agent
• Personnel at a local school: Guidance counselor, professor, teacher, and clergy.
A proctor CANNOT be a co-worker, relative, friend, or an acquaintance.
The list of acceptable proctors has been greatly expanded by Pearson VUE. You may visit the following website for more information: www.virginiainsurancece.com
Course Subject Requirements
• At least 3 hours must be in Ethics
• At least 8 hours must be relevant to each license type if 24 hours is required.
• All hours must be relevant to license type held if 16 credit hours is required.
• For producers who sell LTC an initial 8-hour course is required in order to sell LTC Partnership policies, thereafter a 4-hour course must be completed every two years from that date. It is the employer's responsiblity to verfiy that this requirement is met by the agent within each twenty-four month period, not each license CE biennium. Please see the following administrative letter for more information: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/index.aspx
• For producers who sell Flood insurance they must complete at least a 3-hour course in flood insurance. Please see the following administrative letter for more information: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi.index.aspx
• For producers who wish to sell Annuities, a one time 4-credit training course approved for Annuity credits must be completed.
-Public Adjusters must complete 3 hours ethics and 21 hours in any combination of the following courses: Property&Casualty courses, Mitigation courses, Flood courses, and Public Adjuster courses.
Hours may be carried over to the next reporting period, however hours must be reported in the biennium in which they were earned. Carryover credits from the previous Biennium are automatically activated when an agent pays their one-time biennium reporting fee of $20.00.
Excess earned Ethics (Ethics) credits may be applied to cover other CE Requirements in the current biennium, and any remaining credits will be carried over to the next biennium and applied to either the Ethics requirement or other CE requirements.
CE credits awarded for Other General Insurance (OGI) topics will be used to meet any license-specific requirement but not the Ethics requirement.
Courses may not be taken more than once within the same reporting period
• A resident or non-resident agent who is at least 65 and can demonstrate that he/she has held any combination of resident or non-resident Virginia licenses of equivalent type continuously for at least 20 years.
• Individuals who hold a limited line license, such as credit life/health, travel accident and travel baggage insurance agents.
• Newly licensed agents are exempt from the first reporting period if the agent passed the Virginia license exam or moved from a state that has a reciprocal agreement with Virginia.
• Non-resident agents if their home state has CE requirements and has a reciprocal agreement with Virginia.
• Military Exemption: Agents who are military reservists called to active duty for more than 30 days may be eligible for a waiver for all or a part of their CE requirement.
See the Handbook for details for requesting a waiver. Requests must be supported by documentation and will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
Cape will report all CE credits to Sircon within 21 days. A certificate of completion will be provided for your records.
License Renewal and Information
Visit the Virginia Bureau of Insurance Producer Assistance Page to renew or look up your license number, pay fees, and more
Check your license status and license number look up: http://www.sircon.com/index.html
According to the Agents Licensing Section of the Commonwealth of Virginia, all applicants for insurance licensing in Virginia should now upload all attachments and submit them with the electronic application using Sircon's Compliance Express ("CX"). The new functionality for electronically submitting the Virginia Criminal History Record Report (CHRR) is the most efficient and secure way for the Bureau to receive and process license applications. Visit www.scc.virginia.gov/boi for licensing information and http://www.sircon.com/virginia to apply online. To attach the CHRR and related documents go to the License Application Confirmation Page or the License Application Activity Inquiry and use the Attach Supporting Documentation button (a paperclip icon). There you can browse for the electronic document on your computer, provide a description and upload the document to the license application.
your resident & nonresident license online - Contact Information:
If you have any questions regarding renewal or credits, please contact:
Sircon: 877-876-4430 or www.sircon.com
Virginia Bureau of Insurance
Agent Licensing Section
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218
Cape School, Inc.
P.O. Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921
Or email us: email@example.com
• Knowledgeable Instructors
• No Final Exam
• Variety of Topics
• No Exam
• Live Classes on your Computer
• Participate from Anywhere with Internet
• Convenient, Easy, and Affordable
• Online and Textbook Courses
• Take Courses on your Schedule
• Variety of Topics